The end of Febuary 2012, will signal the big move to our main website. I’m trying very hard to make it a one stop prepardness/world flu news website. FNN blog will remain but will be used for archives. Stay tuned for “Flu News Network goes live.”

It’s hard to believe it will be 4 years next month since I first experimented with a flu blog. Alot has changed since then, and this blog has undergone several changes, and anything growing will do. Im very proud of Flu News Network. You have continued to support this blog and I’m very thankful. I consider this blog a public health service and at such time, have felt the need to expand FNN’s services to access more prepardness information while getting your world flu news. H5N1 is heating up to a point that I’ve never seen before in the 7 years I’ve been apart of the flu world. I’m not saying a pandemic is on it’s way. A metor could hit before a pandemic does, but I don’t like what I’m seeing.

The main goal of FNN has ALWAYS been to get people to prepare for emergency/disasters. If you are like me and have been through too many natural disasters, you understand the importance of being prepared. Since that horrible ice storm we had back in ’98, (upstate new york and into Canada) I have been caught unprepared once. Let me tell ya folks, the terrible sick-to-the-stomach feeling knowing I was ill prepared to help my family be safe, fed and to keep them healthy during the crisis, was more than I could handle. I let my prepping lag, got sloppy with replacing items and had basically nothing. No power for two days, and I had one damn candle! Me! One candle! We had one gallon of water between us. My daughters were hungry. Why? Because I had no way to cook without the electric stove. Just hadn’t gotten around to getting that camp stove I’d been meaning to get. UGH!! Needless to say that was a very miserable 2 days for my family and it wasn’t necessary. I kicked myself for that and still do.

I hate to say that I have no sympathy for people who don’t have at least a weeks worth of stock, but I don’t. Everyone can afford a week or two of stock at no expense and no extra room really. One can get pretty creative at storing preps around the home and no one would ever know. It’s not too late. Start with a basic two week stock and see how you feel then. I know you’ve heard FEMA and our GOV say three days worth of food and water. HA!! Really? How long do you think a disaster would last? How long do you think an emergency situation would last? (and that’s not taking into considertion that they can’t get the emergency resolved as quickly as they thought they could. See, plan ahead.)Or heavens, a pandemic? TWO WEEKS folks. That is an excellant starting point. Three days leaves no room for error on their part in an emergency situation. Natural disasters, as we all know, last a hellva lot longer than three days.

It’s not too late to start a basic stock, but I wouldn’t put it off much longer if your of the mind to do it. (that is my personal advice for what’s it worth.)

I hope you will join me on FNN’s new website, going live the end of Febuary. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Thanks for the continued support.
cottontop