The head of the World Health Organization said on Thursday she would not hesitate to raise the global pandemic alert to the top of the six-point scale if the new H1N1 flu is spreading globally.

“When I see more signals coming from the virus itself or the spread of the disease, including severity, I would not shy away from making a very difficult decision. I would not compromise the world people’s health,” Margaret Chan said.

“For Phase 5 to Phase 6 I need to satisfy myself that this is a global phenomenon,” she told the WHO’s annual meeting in Geneva, where Britain, Japan, and other flu-affected countries have been calling for new criteria for declaring the full alert.

The head of the World Health Organization said on Thursday she would not hesitate to raise the global pandemic alert to the top of the six-point scale if the new H1N1 flu is spreading globally.

“When I see more signals coming from the virus itself or the spread of the disease, including severity, I would not shy away from making a very difficult decision. I would not compromise the world people’s health,” Margaret Chan said.

“For Phase 5 to Phase 6 I need to satisfy myself that this is a global phenomenon,” she told the WHO’s annual meeting in Geneva, where Britain, Japan, and other flu-affected countries have been calling for new criteria for declaring the full alert.

http://www.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idUSTRE54K1WQ20090521

